DOTA for a Brighter Future

30 07 2008

I don’t play World of Warcraft. In fact, I have not yet played any computer game in my life—ever.

Coming from a 17 year-old guy, this is hard to believe. Seriously, who have not yet played DotA?

Isn’t it obvious now that I am really an alien?

Ironic as it may seem, I have invariably been an advocate of computer gaming. The math wizards in my high school class have always been the ones urgent to go home [by home I mean computer shop] to play Counter Strike or Battle Realms, because DotA was not as popular then as it is now. So judging from the types of people who play computer games [e.g. college professors, dean’s listers, fishball vendors], the public assumption of “gaming freaks failing their academics” is seemingly inapplicable.

Okay, so why don’t I play DotA? Given the resources [e.g. PC, fast internet connection, game installer] I should be using my precious time in a killing spree of all-star bliss. [Okay, I just made that up, hakhak]. I do not play the game NOT because I’m scared of flunking my subjects. Back in high school I kind of vowed, to some extent, never to play computer games, just to maintain a unique perspective of the issue concerning the negative [kuno] effects of computer games to my schoolmates. Other than that, I am also a very poor child that could not afford the 20/hour rate of internet cafés at that time.

Game addiction still fades in comparison with having a boyfriend or girlfriend [or both] with regard to causing student failure.

Gaming is creating a virtual YOU then killing other virtual people—which certainly has no difference with blogging.

Hakhak.

If ever a student experiences a decline in his grades, he shouldn’t blame his friends for introducing DotA in his life; he should blame himself because he didn’t balance his virtual and real lives. [B.I. kung B.I. ah.]

Hakhak.

I doubt studies have been conducted to test whether gaming is really a cause of bad grades. But if there are any, inform me.

The reason why I am writing this now is because I may be failing in school soon, too. I am about to break my principle. Tomorrow I’ll be installing Warcraft. I have read basic DotA tutorials, so I may be ready. Who knows? I may become more strategically adept than you are. I wish this post maintains my sanity after I play my first game.

Hakhak. May ganun?

elyens bid gudlak

XXXxx

Actions

Information

54 responses

30 07 2008
batopik

haha. nakakaboring maglaro nian…
ewan ko ba kung bat ang daming nahook jan..
mas gusto ko pang laruin ung diablo 2.. hakhak. luma na un eh.. pero mas natutuwa talaga ako sa diablo 2.. wala lang.. hehehe..

ako ang iyong ikalawang konsensya…woooohh.. magpa-overdose ka na langng sandamakmak na neozep hahahaha!!! korni ni batopik.. haha!

hakhak

saws

adek to

XXXxx

30 07 2008
mahiwagang_sibuyas

i never tried playin dota or any games of the wield derivative. lol
siguro nga dahil ayaw ko o kaya ayaw ko kasi walang pera panlaro, ayaw ko kasi walang oras pra laruin ‘to, o marahil gusto ko tlga laruin yun nga lang mas pinili kong wag na lang.
i wish you luck. sana lang nde maging rason ang dota cum warcraft cum any OL games para mapabayaan mo ang iyong academic responsibilities.

Hakhak
elyens ka tlga
Hakhak

sana nga!

hakhak

XXXxx

30 07 2008
rspencer

aminin mo na, dyan mo ibubuhos yung mga gumagana sa imahinasyon mo. ang tirahin ang mga taong nangbully sa yo nung HS ka. sana lang di ka maadik.

balew talaga to

hakhak

sinu k nga ba?

hakhak

XXXxx

31 07 2008
hitokirihoshi

ako kung may available na game sa pc namin why not. pero i think as much as i possible i don’t want to install yung mga addicting games kasi may kuya na akong maaadik doon and i have three nieces, dapat lang na maging pang edutainment naman ang mga laman noon.

good luck sa iyong laro, sana ma-balance mo rin kasi kahit papaano kailangan din natin mag-unwind paminsan-minsan.

btw, parang solitaire and textwist (sic) lang ata nalalaro ko ngayon ah. dati battle city, supermario 3, & yung pinakahuli need for speed underground… wala lang masabi lang.. hehehe. thanks sa pagbisita sa kpnh…

hakhak

tenks den sa bisit

aku den eh textwist adeks

hakhak

XXXxx

31 07 2008
raf

good luck! tapos ‘pag magaling ka na, turuan mo ko ha? di din kasi ako naglalaro ng PC games, baka kainin ako ng monitor. hehehe

nako

may pobya den ata aku sa laro eh

hakhak

XXXxx

31 07 2008
zeniamai

I never tried playing DOTA. The only computer games I play are the flash ones and The Sims. But I rarely play games… Basically the very use of my computer is my work and of course my sporadic blogging… Anyway Rime, I too have heard many great things about DOTA, so when you do get the hang of the game, maybe you can teach some of us who are fairly naive about it. 🙂 Maybe we can destroy each other in that particular virtual world (is that even the main objective of the game??).

wala pa ren akung ideya, hnd ku pa kase ntatry ung game eh

XXXxx

31 07 2008
tina

ganun ba.! some kinda of pramizzz pa. hehehehehe. yaan mo na yung pramiz na yun. gawin mo ang ikaliligaya ng iyong mata at kamay. gud luck sa first try.

hakhak

salamat

XXXxx

31 07 2008
ayyzzz

hahaha,.
nakow! gudlak rime!
marunong ako magDOTA konte…
hahaha…
naadik din dati ako sa Online game e.
RAN ONLINE..
wahaha..
nakakaubos ng salapi!
hahaha..
pero atleast na overcome ko na ang pagiging addict!
hahaha…

teka..parang mas marami pa akong HAHAHA na nasabi a,
sige HAHAHA. ule.. 😀

hakhak

genyan talaga

XXXxx

31 07 2008
Rowjie

ako! di ako naglalaro ng dota…

wala din akong ka-alam alam tungkol sa dota… 😦

yehey

parehas tau

XXXxx

31 07 2008
buzzingflowerpecker

NAKU, SISISIHIN KO NA BUONG MUNDO…WAG LANG ANG SARILI KO. HEHE.

MAG-DOTA ka na! tapos isisi natin sa dota lahat ng problema ng mundo.

hakhak

TUMPAK!!!!

hakhak

XXXxx

31 07 2008
wei vines

hehe…basta wag mong kalimutan mga responsibility mo like blogging…:)

aliens!

op kors!

hakhak

XXXxx

31 07 2008
Mumu sa Kanto

dyan ako elien 0.0 la ako alam sa DOTA, ang alam kolang mang-duro! bwahahak. gudlak sayo kapag binabato ka na ng chalk sa classroom saka mo tigilan =))

hakhak

sige

XXXxx

1 08 2008
taps

hindi ko alam yan, at parang nakakatamad pag aralan. hehehe

sabi nga ng isang bata sa amin na adik sa larong yan, kuya wag ka maglaro ng dota, nangangain ng matanda yan.

hehe

hakhak

tu da maks

XXXxx

1 08 2008
eloiski

hayss.
akalain mo yun? nagalaalro din naman ako ng computer or even online games pero hindi naman ako naadik to death eh. time management lang talaga!pero minsan hindi rin talaga ako nakakaiwas sa temptation kaya hayun at minsan napapasubo. di na nagrereview! baddd!!!

geh goodluck!

hakhak

tenkyu!

XXXxx

1 08 2008
ka bute

madaming naaadik jan 😉

baka aku na ang sumunod sa kanila

hakhak

elyens

XXXxx

1 08 2008
Carol

Game addiction still fades in comparison with having a boyfriend or girlfriend [or both] with regard to causing student failure.

natawa naman ako dito. 😀 nung first year ako (3 years ago pa lang!) sinubukan ko magdota. kaya lang naduling ako sa dami ng mga hero at creeps na nasa screen, nalilito ako kung asan na ako thus feeder ang labas ko. haha! goodluck sayo. 😀

hakhak

buti naman at may nakaappreciate ng linyang yan, yan kase ang peborit line ko sa buong post eh

hakhak

elyens

XXXxx

1 08 2008
Geisha

oi apir!

virgin din ako sa mga online games na yan! panay barbie kasi nilalaro ko nung kabataan ko! hahahahah 😀

but now that you’ve tried it! goodluck na lang sau! heheheh 😀

hakhak

ganun?

hakhak

XXXxx

1 08 2008
Carol

iaadd kita sa links namin ha. 😀 yun na ang lagi kong gagawin – hanapin ang peborit line mo sa mga post mo. well, at least susubukan ko. hehehe

ukey, tenks po

iaadd din kita

hakhak

XXXxx

1 08 2008
ayz

i used to play counterstrike back in college.. impluwensya ng mga barkada..

i also tried RA2, starcraft, battle realms. nakapag DOTA ako once, sinama ako ng besplen ko. but i was never good at online games kaya di rin ako sobrang fan..

good luck sa iyong gaming career 😛

hakhak

tenks

XXXxx

1 08 2008
Peter

Goodluck and salamat for the blog visit

hakhak

tenks den kawnsilor!

XXXxx

2 08 2008
Mary Grace

uhuy. DotA. nagtry din akong maglaro niyan dati. pero hindi rin nagtagal. isang beses lang at hindi na naulet.

ah ganun?

sna gnun den mngyari saken

hakhak

XXXxx

2 08 2008
batopik

oh anu.. nakapaglaro ka na? hahahaha!
asa ka naman na naglaro ka ng DotA eh gagaling ka na sa math..
ahuuuuuuuuut! hahaha! joke lang!!! =P

saws

may ganun?

hakhak

hnd p nga eh

major exams pa eh, saka n lng

XXXxx

2 08 2008
Rowjie

tara, trip tayo, laro tayo DOTA

hakhak

d ku p nga po ntatry eh

XXXxx

3 08 2008
jerico

sinubukan ko, hindi ko naintindihan. ayun, tinamad na lang. *_*

hakhak

ganun?

XXXxx

3 08 2008
mhar

ako din, wala akong hilig s paglalaro ng on line games o pc games. gusto ko bumili ng psp pero di naman ako mahilig maglaro.so why pa di ba? anyway, mas gusto ko pa ang magblog at bumisita sa mga educational sites para matuto ako.hehe.. ummm… napadaan lang naman.

hakhak

gusto ko din n g psp, wla nmn akong pmbli

hakhak

XXXxx

4 08 2008
kamotenista

ok lang ang maglaro basta balanse…sabi nga ng pamangkin ko may malaking tatak daw siya sa noo na “self discipline”. may friend din akong pumasa na eng’ng exam na habang nagrereview ay nag lalaro ng DotA. Kaya ikaw magpatatak ka na rin ng salitang “self discipline”….wahahaha

hakhak

sige, pakattandaan ku yan

XXXxx

4 08 2008
shenmue

Hi, just want to air my bitchiness and 4give me 4 d word. Recently, I asked help from Kevin of http://pinoyteens.net, +639153815289 (mobile number)/ +63822440610 (landline number) with an email address service@pinoyteens.net and YM i.believe_11 who lives at Luzviminda Village Waling-waling St. 211-B, Ma-a, Davao City, Philippines, to help me with my domain (http://honeyreyes.com) since I am stupid with its technicalities in wordpress. He said he has helped a lot of bloggers for free yet I opt to give him a little reward just to help me so through gcash I sent a small amount of money (500php) even before he started to modify or edit something. I wanted to change my layout into Bradford magazine. I kept my patience coz every time we chat in YM, he has a lot of things to do in his globally famous site. I grew out of patience when after a week of not being able to post an entry or edit my own blog, he gives this message in YM that he lost his globe sim. We had an agreement he would help me for a month now, I sent him the money more than 2 weeks ago. I kept on sending him messages in YM but no reply from him even if he was online until Saturday night. I could not see him online anymore in YM which is quite unusual. I was able to rung his phone Monday morning (Aug.4) but now it’s turned off.
I do not care about the money I just want my blog back because I cannot post an entry. If he cannot help me change its layout, he should have been honest from the beginning. I promised to give him 1,000php after he finishes all the changes, that was our agreement.

ALL I WANTED WAS TO CHANGE ITS THEME TO BRADFORD MAGAZINE. I AM SO STUPID I COULD NOT DO IT ON MY OWN. I SHOULD HAVE STAYED WITH MY OLD THEME AND NOW I CANNOT EVEN BLOG ANYMORE. MY NEW POST WON’T BE PUBLISHED.

I AM POSTING THIS COMMENT TO GET KEVIN PAQUET’S ATTENTION! GIVE ME THE ID AND PASSWORD SO I CAN DELETE THE UGLY BLOG YOU SAID YOU TEMPORARILY LAID OUT FOR.

“MADALI AKONG KAUSAP. I TOLD YOU THE PREVIOUS DAYS JUST BRING BACK MY OLD BLOG AND I WON’T REQUEST FOR ANYTHING ANYMORE SINCE IT IS OBVIOUS YOU CAN’T HELP ME. YOU HAVE PUSHED ME TOO FAR BRO, THIS IS THE ONLY WAY I CAN GET YOUR ATTENTION SINCE YOU KEEP ON IGNORING ME. I KNOW MONEY IS NOT AN ISSUE FOR YOU TOO. HOWEVER, YOU SHOULD HAVE KEPT YOUR WORD.”

If possible I hope you would repost this in your blog to get his attention and tag 10 more bloggers. I JUST WANT MY F*&%ING BLOG BACK!

Sorry for the disturbance, just can’t hold my anger anymore. I am really sorry…

4 08 2008
Yom

Haha. Nung high school, adik na adik ako sa DotA. As in I cut classes just to play DotA with my buddies. LOL. But still, that year was my best in high school. LOL. Ngayon, third year college na ako, and three years na ring hindi naglalaro talaga. Blogging is better and more addictive, plus it seems more intellectual for me. 🙂

Haha. Try mo pala ‘yung O2 Jam. Wala lang. 🙂

Anyway, salamat sa pagbisita sa blog ko. Ngayon lang naka-update e. 🙂

hakhak

saws

may ganun?

hakhak

sige

XXXxx

4 08 2008
nuel jose

maski ako never pang naglaro ng kahit anong game. PRAMIS.

ewan ko ba. di ko lang siguro hilig….

salamat sa pagbisita sa blog ko.. 🙂

hakhak

salamat din

XXXxx

4 08 2008
Richmond

“Coming from a 17 year-old guy, this is hard to believe. Seriously, who have not yet played DotA?”

I do not play and have not played and will not play DotA. Coming from a 20 year-old blogger, this is hard to believe. Seriously, there is nothing in it.

saws

may ganun?

hakhak

XXXxx

4 08 2008
Trisha

What made you change your mind about computer games? Haha. Ako kahit ComSci pa ako, wala rin ako hilig sa computer games kahit na marami din akong high school batchmates na babae na adik din sa paglalaro. I think its because nung bata ako, di ako nakaranas maglaro ng kahit anu mang PC games sa bahay because we never had a computer back when I was in elementary. I would only get satisfactory grades in my Comp Ed class back then. Yung tipong, thank God pumasa ako. Haha

But yea, I agree that they shouldn’t base failing grades because of computer addiction. It all depends with the person naman e. I have a high school batchmate who was always the top in our batch and yet he’s also a gamer. It’s just a matter of balancing one’s priorities.

hakhak

wla lng, try lang

XXXxx

4 08 2008
prinsesamusang

good luck when you draw that ‘first blood’!
anyway, the way your photo is green kind of brushes something in me. hmm.. weird…

4 08 2008
prinsesamusang

and oh, don’t mind richmond. there’s nothing in dota that’s wrong. it’s just him.

hakhak

gnun?

XXXxx

5 08 2008
beero

why feel so alienated, rime? 😆 pero nakaka-relate ako sayo. we’re both elyens! woot! i also haven’t played dota in my entire. i dunno, m not a fan of online games. pinagtatawanan nga ako ng opismeyts ko kasi di ako marunong maglaro. wahehe

hakhak

may ganun?

hakhak

XXXxx

5 08 2008
daniel jr

holdup, wag naman hehe.. uy, help naman. pano nagawa un header mo.. may application k p bang inistall sa pc? haay .. tnx 😀

ah wla

gimp lang

hakhak

XXXxx

5 08 2008
batopik

ang tagal naman… anu na update sa DotA?? Anu na?? Anu hero mu?? haha. pramis talaga. mabo-bore ka lang pag naglaro ka niyan.. mas masarap pa maglaro ng super mario sa gameboy. hahaha! bagong post naman jan… nu ba yan. circuits ng circuits eh. haha!

adek

may exam sa friday eh, saturday p ko mgpopost

hakhak

XXXxx

5 08 2008
carL

nbalive naman ako..
tama kah, gaming is everything like blogging..
an obsession..

hakhak

ah gnun?

nglalaro den nian klasmeyts ko

XXXxx

5 08 2008
prinsesamusang

add you to my links. 🙂

6 08 2008
irvine

Ha! I am playing too much of Vice City and I am only 6. My mom says there is too much violence and hate in that game. But my mom “hates” it!

Wah!

{{added you to my huggies list… thanks for visiting!}}

6 yrs old?!!!

dude, u r dope

hakhak

XXXxx

6 08 2008
Kat Carneo

I don’t play PC games too, dahil sa ahm, dun ko lang nararamdaman na tanga ako. Like the first and last time I played counter strike with my guy friends in high school, I always got killed by means of a knife. Ni hindi na ako ginastusan ng ammunition ng mga hayop. Textwist, okay yan sakin. Hangaroo.Solitaire. Gusto kong sabihing ang gusto kong laro ay mga mental games, pero ang katotohanan nyan ay boring ako.

At hakhak ang tawa mo, coolness. Gagayahin ko yan.

ui, another textwister!

hakhak

XXXxx

6 08 2008
spongebabe

i’m not a gamer, too. i only love playing the sims. and GTA. and need for speed. and NBA Live.

oh heck.

hakhak

oh, the irony

XXXxx

6 08 2008
shenmue

bro, pwede mo na idelete ang previous comment q hehehe… thanks for the visit!

wag na

para makulay ang layp!

hakhak

XXXxx

6 08 2008
Bryan

talk about games people play

woof!

saws

hakhak

XXXxx

6 08 2008
aga

dotA uu naririnig ko yan sa mga kaibigan ko but wala me hilog dyan ! ahehehehe
asust 🙂 napadaan lan!
peace

hakhak

ganun?

XXXxx

7 08 2008
dor

I dont play DOTA even though most of my co-age are crazy on it, I guess Im an old soul for I like VERSUS games more than stragety or roleplaying. Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter, for me, are still the best ever computer game invented…Anyway, cool post there…

hakhak

tenks

XXXxx

7 08 2008
nickname™

bat ganun? waaahh! i play DotA since college up until now. Whenever I feel like I’m bored to death, I play DotA. It’s not boring, i tell you. Those who say that DotA is boring have never played DotA and have missed one half of their lives. I didn’t have bad grades when DotA was introduced to me. You maybe right na dapat you have to balance your virtual and real life.

DotA is strategic. You will learn a lot from it. And DotA doesn’t need an internet connection if you will be playing against the computer (AI) or other shopmates (LAN). hehehe.

Ang haba ng comment ko. wahaha! 😆

huwaw

todo eport

hakhak

salamat, sige iteteyk ku yang adbays mo

XXXxx

9 08 2008
pishnge

awtsss.. dota… dota… warcraft.. warcraft..

WAG na magdota!!!!!

ganyan ka nalang wag mo na balakin …

or else magiging adik ka lang hindi na elyen…

cge ka.. jejejeje

toinkz..

(0′-‘0)

*tnx ngapala sa comment sa isang post dun ko sa blog ko*

tenks den

hakhak

XXXxx

27 08 2008
game business

game business…

I made money playing these games…

28 08 2008
compumatics

Dong, panis na yang DoTA mag Cabal ka na lang para maiba! Deal or No Deal?

2 09 2008
yaiboy

ako naglalaro pa niyan! haha! masaya naman eh. lalo na pag magkakasama talaga kayo. it’s not all negative. 🙂

6 09 2008
Elay.Metaphor

journalism po ung course ko. xenxa na dito me nagreply.. hindi ko naman po kasi alam email add mo. thanks po. nga pala, panget ng blog ko noh? kasi naman di me marunong mag design ng blog eh.. ^_^ Godbless.

9 09 2008
PROSETITUTE

NICE ONE. BAKA MADEVELOP KAYO NI ELAY AH.
NYAHAHAHAHA.

20 11 2008
batopik

yieeh! elay pala eh (tinan ang koment sa taas). yun eh! haha!
ui may tournament ng texttwist nung hayskul kame. hahaha! wala lang.
sempre adik ako dun. pati hangman. HAHAHA!

haaaaay! nabobore na ako. hindi ka pa ba magpopost ng bagong post? HAHA!
di ka naman na namamansin. mas isnabero ka pa saken.

30 01 2009
DotA AI

Hey nice post and good blog. Would you like to have a link exchange with me? I own multiple blogs and would like to have some few backlinks. Email me if you are interested. 🙂

DotA AI Maps Download

Leave a Reply

